The Planning Division, under the Community Development Department, is responsible for providing support to the city's advisory boards on land use and transportation, such as the Planning Commission, and to the Mayor and City Council on all matters related to the city's development regulations. The Planning Division's responsibilities also include administration of the city's development codes, zoning, subdivision administration, shoreline management, environmental review, and concurrency management.

Planning staff also provides, and is responsible for, the annual updates to the City Comprehensive Plan under the Washington State Growth Management Act, neighborhood and special area planning and code development.


Information about the Planning Commission's upcoming meeting agendas and approved minutes may be accessed here. The agendas are posted on the website prior to the meetings.

The Planning Commission meetings are held the second and fourth Mondays of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall.  The City of Monroe is in the process of renovating its development code which can entail additional special meetings for the Planning Commission.  If you have any questions, please contact Kim Shaw, Land Use Permit Supervisor at 360-863-4532.


Plans & Information of Interest

  • Downtown Sub-Area Plan

Shoreline Master Program (SMP)

The City of Monroe has updated its Shoreline Master Program (SMP), in accordance with the Growth Management Act (GMA) and requirements of the Washington State Department of Ecology (DOE). The city began this process in 2001, with a shoreline inventory of the Skykomish River and Woods Creek. The city received a grant from the DOE to complete the update, which resulted in the amendments to the Comprehensive Plan and Monroe Municipal Code. The city received final approval of the updated SMP from DOE in July 2008.

Downtown Subarea Plan

A sub-area plan is a land use plan for a specific geographical area, in this case historic downtown Monroe. The focus of this plan is to review the overall land use pattern, uses, and infrastructure to enhance economic vitality and promote a greater sense of community. To accomplish this, an inventory of existing conditions is generated including, but not limited to, land use patterns, public facilities and utilities, traffic patterns, and off-street parking. A comprehensive environmental review will take place for potential development alternatives. Goal and policy statements will be created to guide future development of this area and incorporate these findings into the City of Monroe Comprehensive Plan. Finally, development standards will be adopted into the zoning code, MMC Title 18, to implement the new goals and policies for this sub-area.