Economic Development Advisory Board

Board Vacancy

There is currently one vacancy on the Economic Development Advisory Board. The vacancy is for a mid-term position that expires 12/31/2024. If you are interested in applying, please fill out an application and submit to the City Clerks office at For details about the Board, see below.


The Economic Development Advisory Board regularly meets on the second and fourth Thursday of each month at 8:00 a.m.
Meetings are held in hybrid format: in-person in the Parks and Public Works Building Conference Room adjacent to City Hall, 769 Village Way, and virtually via Zoom meeting platform.

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available upon adoption.
For Agendas and Minutes since January 1, 2021, please visit the City's new Agenda Center.
For Agendas and Minutes prior to January 1, 2021, please visit the Agendas & Minutes Archive.

Business Resources

The City of Monroe is gathering and sharing details of business resources and assistance programs established or expanded as a result of COVID-19. Please visit the City's Business Resources page for details on these important programs. 


In December 2015, the City Council adopted the City of Monroe Comprehensive Plan which included the Economic Development Strategy. This identified six themes as economic development strategic priorities: to develop a thriving Downtown with vibrant “Main Street character;” provide a great place to start and grow a business; become an outdoor and adventure destination; continue growth and development; maintain Monroe’s US 2 regional retail center; and be walkable, accessible, and interconnected. 

The City Council approved the formation of the short-term Economic Development Advisory Board in 2018, which met throughout 2018, provided input, prioritized the City’s economic development plans, and presented a recommendation to the City Council. On September 25th, 2018 the Economic Development Advisory Board (EDAB) was established through City of Monroe Resolution No. 019/2018 on a more permanent basis ending December 31, 2022. The City Council extended the term of the Economic Development Advisory Board on July 26, 2022, until December 31, 2026, by Resolution No. 2022-013

The purpose of EDAB is to provide a forum for the coordination of information among entities identified as having economic development roles; recommending priorities and establishing a means to monitor progress on goals; and providing such other advice and guidance with furthering Monroe’s economic development strategy.


The EDAB consists of 7 voting members, representing a cross section of the business community with a balance of business type, location, and size. The initial terms of appointment are staggered, and the Mayor and City Administrator will serve as ex-officio members. The board will meet on a monthly basis, at a reoccurring day and time, as established by Board action. 

All proceedings will comply with RCW 42.30, the Open Public Meetings Act.


Members of the EDAB shall be appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. Members may be removed by the Mayor as well, with the council’s approval. Terms of appointment are for four years.

Initial terms of appointment shall be staggered as follows:

  • Two positions with terms ending December 31, 2020
  • Two positions with terms ending December 31, 2021
  • Three positions with terms ending December 31, 2022

The following are the current Advisory Board Members:

Position NumberBoard MembersTerm Expires
Position 1John Whims - Whims Insurance and Financial ServicesDecember 31, 2024
Position 2VACANTDecember 31, 2024
Position 3Karl Niemela - TC PrecisionDecember 31, 2025
Position 4Sally Petty - American Family/Sally Petty Insurance AgencyDecember 31, 2025
Position 5James Reyna - Galaxy TheatresDecember 31, 2026
Position 6Anvar Umarov - Siemens HealthcareDecember 31, 2026
Position 7Katy Woods - Coastal Community BankDecember 31, 2026

Board Responsibilities

The EDAB is an advisory body to the Mayor and City Council, and all recommendations by the EDAB addressing work program, policy issues, and related budget issues will be made to the Mayor and Council. Additionally, members of the EDAB have the following duties and responsibilities:

  • Providing a communication link between the City and the business community
  • Advise the City on implementation of the Economic Development Work Program
  • Advise the City on the business perspective on a range of policy issues such as capital planning, zoning amendments, and land use policy plans

EDAB Draft Recommendations