Click to Home
Go To Search
Planning & Permitting
About Planning and Permitting
The Planning Division is responsible for providing support to the City's advisory boards on land use and transportation, such as the Planning Commission and Transportation Commission, and to the Mayor and City Council on all matters related to the city's Comprehensive Plan and development regulations. The division's responsibilities also include administration of the city's development codes, zoning, subdivision administration, shoreline management, environmental review, and concurrency management. The division is also responsible for the annual updates to the City Comprehensive Plan under the Washington State Growth Management Act, neighborhood and special area planning and code development.

Planning Commission
Information about the Planning Commission's upcoming meeting agendas and approved minutes may be accessed from the City of Monroe home page under City Government/Boards and Commissions/Planning Commission. The agendas will be posted on the website by the Wednesday prior to the upcoming Planning Commission meeting.

The Planning Commission meetings are held the second and fourth Mondays of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall. Agendas will no longer be e-mailed since they are available on the website. If you have any questions, please contact Kim Shaw, CPT at (360) 863-4532.

Planning Department 
David Osaki, AICP 
Community Development Director
Phone: 360-863-4544 

Kristi Kyle
Senior Planner
Phone: 360-863-4513

Land Use Permit Inquiries 
Kim Shaw, C.P.T. 
Land Use Permit Supervisor 
Phone: 360-863-4532 

Christina LaVelle
Planning Permit Technician
Phone: 360-863-4533

Building Department
Rick Karns
Building Official
Phone: 360-863-4553

Donald E. Stout
Building Inspector / Plans Examiner
Phone: 360-863-4536

Building Permit Inquiries
Jesse Johnson, C.P.T.
Building Permit Technician
Phone: 360-863-4527

Mike Fitzgerald
Fire Marshal
Phone: 360-805-0338

Monroe Fire Department
163 Village Ct.
Monroe, WA 98272